In the land of the Ice, part 2

Oh Iceland.

The longer I live in London, the more I want to go back to Iceland.

What an absolutely flawless place.

Our second day arrived. Over our jetlag thanks to the most comfortable bed in the entire world with a view of MOUNTAINS, we booked a tour of the Golden Circle – aka the main tourist attractions outside of Reykjavik – but whatever because I love being a tourist. The previous day of sunshine and blue skies was gone. Of course. We book a bus tour and it’s so foggy that you can’t really see anything… Our first stop was driving through the absolutely beautiful countryside up mountains to see a “volcano”. But no one told the weather gods we wanted to see it, so we only saw fog.

Apparently there was a volcano around here?

Apparently there was a volcano around here?

Luckily, Thor (or whichever Scandinavian god controls the weather) heard my plea and the sun found us again.

The second stop was even more gorgeous, and really every place we stopped just got better and better.

I can’t stressed how obsessed I was/still am/forever will be with the Icelandic landscape.

Ugh, just look at this place. As if.

Ugh, just look at this place. As if.

Our next stop was the mid-Atlantic Ridge. The geography nerd that lives deep inside me was on display that day. I had no shame in a) taking 100934805 pictures; b)dancing along the ridge; c)touching the ridge in inappropriate ways; and d)just staring at the ridge.

Mid-Atlantic Ridge. Just chilling between two continents. Whatevskis

Mid-Atlantic Ridge. Just chilling between two continents. Whatevskis

Majesty. Pure majesty.

Majesty. Pure majesty.

This picture only shows about a 15th of my excitement.

This picture only shows about a 15th of my excitement.

I’m pretty sure I was dancing the whole time.

Afterwards, the bus stopped along other famous sites like the Gulfoss the waterfall used in Prometheus, another waterfall, glaciers, geysirs and just other really cool shit.

Aaaaaagh, these vistas.

Aaaaaagh, these vistas.

The Engineer's spacecraft had just flown away. I swear.

The Engineer’s spacecraft had just flown away. I swear.

Excitement abounds.

Excitement abounds.

Golden circle 7

Could not for the life of me properly time a photo of a geysir going off...

Could not for the life of me properly time a photo of a geysir going off…

I like to tell myself those glaciers in the distance is where Game of Thrones films the scenes beyond the Wall. White walkers.

I like to tell myself those glaciers in the distance is where Game of Thrones films the scenes beyond the Wall. White walkers.

So after about 7 hours of bus rides and spectacular views, we decided to end the day as any normal person would. By ordering an extra large pizza and watching the Fifth Element.

2 thoughts on “In the land of the Ice, part 2

  1. All you had to say was Game of Thrones. Remember how I became obsessed with that show and then promptly thereafter pretty much started dating Khal Drogo?
    When Buchi went to Iceland, she said the same thing about the landscape… she went berserk with her camera too.
    Can’t wait to see you so soon! Family drunk! xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

